Databases

Type

NewsBank's HeritageHub Webinar - Supporting Genealogists & Historians in Your Community!

Submitted by candace.robertson on Wed, 09/04/2024 - 14:36

NewsBank's HeritageHub Webinar - Supporting Genealogists & Historians in Your Community!

Learn more about HeritageHub, the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research, 1704 – today, with thousands of new records from newspapers and funeral homes added daily. This webinar is offered several times between September 5th and October 1st. Click the link below to register and select a date and time.

Tags:

Webinar, HeritageHub, NewsBank, Databases, 2024

Weiss Financial Ratings trial

Submitted by zachary.branstetter on Fri, 04/22/2022 - 12:00

If you have experience using Value Line, either on your own, or through helping our customers, I would like your help evaluating a possible alternative. The new database is called Weiss Financial Ratings. It provides many of the same functions as Value Line but may lack others, so I would like your feedback on how the two databases compare with one another. If you would like to test out Weiss, the link should log you in automatically. You can also create a personal account for free in order to save searches and other specific information.

Tags:

Databases

Read more about Weiss Financial Ratings trial
1 comment
Log in to post comments

Kanopy on Libby!

Submitted by zachary.branstetter on Tue, 11/23/2021 - 13:14

Starting December 6th, customers will be able to access Kanopy directly from the Libby app. Kanopy will appear in the Extras section of the Libby app alongside Metro's own curated collections, campaigns, and catalog guides. The Kanopy app and all the ways to browse, stream, and enjoy videos from Kanopy will remain unchanged.

Additional details about Kanopy discovery in Libby:

Tags:

Databases, Digital Collections, Digital Services

Read more about Kanopy on Libby!
Log in to post comments

Ancestry.com - End of Remote Access

Submitted by zachary.branstetter on Wed, 11/17/2021 - 09:55

Hello Metro,

Begining on December 31st, 2021, Ancestry.com will be canceling its remote access availability. However, customers will still be able to acccess Ancestry.com while visiting the Library. Since some of our customers may have come to enjoy or rely on their remote access to Ancestry.com, we can let them know that we have another genealogy resource specifically for customers to access at home, MyHeritage.

Tags:

Databases, Digital Service, e-resources

Read more about Ancestry.com - End of Remote Access
Log in to post comments

UPDATED Database Cancellation-Career Cruising

Submitted by kristine.magers on Thu, 06/17/2021 - 13:38

UPDATE: Thank you to those that provided feedback on these resources. After reviewing the survey, usage data, and our collection plan, it's been decided that we'll only be cancelling Career Cruising.

Tags:

eResources, Databases